Resolutions….yes….no…..

Reading the post about Resolutions from my dear friend PurpleButterfly, made me think about this and I decide to write this small post.

2014-01-02 resolutions_001This question being asked and me thinking about it, whether I do them or not, makes it difficult to answer. OK, it is 2014 now, and for me actually the change of years is nothing really important. January the first is just a regular day as f.i. September 20. Of course I wish people a wonderful and a healthy New Year, and I get the same back. After all, it is tradition to do so, and when I say ‘Happy & Healthy New Year’ to someone, I DO mean it.

My believe is that when you want to do resolution, it does not necessarily have to be at the change of years. I know, everyone says the new year is or can be a new start, a point of timing to leave things behind you, to start new and maybe better things. For me, I don’t think it will work. Changes sometimes overcome you, whether you want it or not, but the changes YOU want to make in and with your life, can only be done if you are ready for it, if your mind is ready for it. Otherwise those changes are doomed to fail.

Resolutions I make and do, mostly need time to get ready for it or time to be able to do it. One of my ‘resolutions’ I recently started. I go to the gym and train my ass off……and believe me, I have fun doing it *smiles*. It is something that has been in my head for a few years, but always has been difficult to realize. I mean, until October last year, for going to the gym, I always had to travel too far, and for someone who does not own a car, that is not easy to do then. A fitness center opened its doors in October last year, in the village I live in and for me it was a now or never decision and I signed up.

Of course there will come other changes in my life, some are in my head for some time (cleaning up my wardrobe is one of them too PB *smiles*) and others just happen because I can not control them, but that is part of life I’d say.

Resolutions…..yes……no….., I just hope that this year is going to be a good, a healthy and a peaceful year for everyone and that some of the resolutions, the plans you might have in your head will be established when you are ready for it.

Categories: Second Life | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Resolutions….yes….no…..

  1. purplebutterflylykin

    I agree with you Jug when you say that changes in life can’t happen till we are willing and able to let those changes occur.

    Even when life throws the ball at us and we are forced to catch mid-game it takes until we accept those changes for us to really benefit from the lessons forced upon us.

    Congrats on deciding to go to the gym! I wish I had that willpower and comitment but at this stage my lazy butt enjoys the couch a tad too much.

    Hugs and Happy New Year.

  2. As it comes to going to the gym, the commitment surely is there, the willpower I am sort of still working on that. It always is a battle between me and myself, to get up and get ready to GO to the gym, but once I am there, I truly enjoy doing my exercises and after I finish them and see on the computer that I have trained ‘like a sport-man’, I feel so good about myself.
    From next week on, it will be going there twice a week. And even though the step of getting ready and really go, remains difficult, I am going. Once it is in my system, I reckon it will be easier to take the ‘get ready and go’ step.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.